USGS - science for a changing world

Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Center

  Home About NPWRC Our Science Staff Employment Contacts Common Questions About the Site

Platte River Ecology Study


U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

We acknowledge numerous individuals employed by the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service for their assistance in bringing this project to a successful completion. In particular, we thank W. Reid Goforth, Director of the Northern Prairie Wildlife Research Center and Dave Trauger, Assistant Director, during their tenures and Rey Stendell, Acting Director for the remaining term of the study for their support and encouragement. Doug Johnson, Supervisor of Statistical Services at the Center, Tony Frank, Al Davenport, Carol Nustad, and Sandy Harris are thanked for their prompt handling and processing of the large data bank that accumulated during the course of these investigations. We are indebted to Pat Johnson, Supervisor of Clerical Services and to her staff, in particular Debra Reimers and Tammy Fercho, for their prompt and conscientious typing of several drafts of the Report. Carole Hayes, Administrative Assistant at the Center, was most helpful in facilitating numerous transactions involving contracts, purchase of equipment and supplies. Eileen Bartels, Center Librarian is thanked for her assistance in obtaining numerous reports and other documents sought by the research team during the course of these investigations. We acknowledge the assistance of other Center researchers, particularly Lew Cowardin and Al Sargeant, in providing equipment and facilities needed to complete our studies. We thank Center Chemist Vyto Adomaitis and Technician John Shoesmith for lipid analyses of waterfowl carcasses. We deeply appreciate the prompt attention given our needs by the Maintenance Staff and in particular Supervisor Loren Hemen and Shop Foreman Jim Romelfanger. Their conscientious attention to our many requests did much to further our studies. The Technician Pool at the Center, particularly Supervisor Charlie Shaiffer and Technicians Bruce Hanson, Larry Mechlin, Mavis Meyer, and Jim Piehl contributed immensely to the successful conduct of our research. Several employees participated in studies under part-time appointments and are acknowledged including Kim Hennings, Doug Janke, Frank Rohwer, Bob Sanford, Tom Turnow and Adrian Wydeven. Young Adult Conservation Corps employees that were involved in the project were John Cochnar, Brooks Gehring, Dave Jenson, Sara Minkoff, and Cathy House. One student, Sherri Minneman, was employed under a Cooperative Education Agreement. Volunteer assistance was provided by John Reeves.

The research team was given valuable assistance by other U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service personnel. We acknowledge the assistance and encouragement provided by Darold Walls, past Manager of the Hastings Wetland Management District, and the following members of his staff: Al Trout, Ray Washtak, and Duane Huber. Fant Martin, former Director of the Migratory Bird and Habitat Research Laboratory, is thanked for his support in coordinating cooperative aspects of our investigations. The staff at the Ecological Services Office at Grand Island, and in particular, Supervisor Kent Kroonemeyer and Gene Miller provided much support to our field research program. The Pierre Area Office, and in particular, Area Managers Rolf Wallenstrom and Jim Salyer, Assistant Area Manager Chuck Sowards, and Biologist Maurice Anderson are acknowledged for their assistance. Assistant Regional Director Bill Martin and Biologists Dale Sutherland and Grady Towns helped coordinate our studies with other governmental entities. We thank Chris Brandt of the National Fish and Wildlife Health Laboratory for providing information on wildlife disease outbreaks. Paul Vohs, Unit Leader of the Oklahoma Cooperative Wildlife Research Unit during most of the study is acknowledged for extending the support of his personnel who were conducting crane research along the North Platte River. We are grateful for the assistance provided by Charles Strickland, Manager of the Clarence Rhode National Wildlife Range, and Chris Dau, Wildlife Biologist, stationed at the Range.

Other Agencies, Institutions, and Individuals

Several other agencies, institutions, and individuals also assisted our efforts. The Nebraska Game and Parks Commission is acknowledged for the assistance provided by the following individuals: Ken Johnson, Joe Hyland, Ross Locke, Jim Hurt, Bill Ernest, Loren Noecker, Nick Lyman, Don Schepler, and George Nason. Members of the U.S. Geological Survey participating in Platte River hydrology studies are thanked for their assistance. In particular, we appreciate the support given by Carl Nordin and Dick Hadley who served as project leaders of the Platte River hydrology study, and Lester Petri, Acting District Chief at Lincoln, Nebraska. The Bureau of Reclamation personnel assigned to Platte River studies are acknowledged for their support particularly Roger Weidleman and Terry Lynott. The Canadian Wildlife Service and especially Clint Jorgenson, Manager of the Last Mountain Lake Game Management Area, are thanked for assisting our research efforts. We are grateful to The National Audubon Society for allowing us to conduct research on their property and for the services of Bob Wicht, the Manager of the Lillian Annette Rowe Sanctuary and Gary Pearson, an expert on wildlife diseases important to migratory bird populations. Merlin W. Erickson, Agricultural Economist with the U.S. Department of Agriculture Economic and Statistics Service, is acknowledged for providing socio-economic data for counties in the study area. Robert Jarvis, Associate Professor in the Department of Fisheries and Wildlife at Oregon State University, helped facilitate crane research on the Yukon-Kuskokwim Delta in Alaska.

Numerous landowners allowed access to their properties during the course of these investigations. We are particularly indebted to the assistance provided by the following landowners: Ted Peterson, John Pierce, Art Terry, Kent Binfield, Bob Crandall, and Joel Jeffreys.

Review of Special Research Report

We gratefully acknowledge the following individuals for their critical review of the report: Ken Abraham, David Ankney, Jan Eldridge, Erik Fritzell, Hal Kantrud, and James Lewis.

Previous Section -- Major Contributors to the Report
Return to Contents
Next Section -- Introduction

Accessibility FOIA Privacy Policies and Notices

Take Pride in America logo logo U.S. Department of the Interior | U.S. Geological Survey
Page Contact Information: Webmaster
Page Last Modified: Saturday, 02-Feb-2013 04:51:07 EST
Sioux Falls, SD [sdww55]